top of page
Search
  • gabby.sutton

Day 2 (Achimota)

Updated: May 16, 2019

Never in my life have I been so exhausted, yet simultaneously fulfilled. During this flight over to Accra, I began reading a book by Melinda Gates about how empowering women changes the world. (Thanks for making me buy a book mom)! It has honestly changed my perspective on so many things as I've been here. I have been able to witness first-hand many of the issues she discusses and am deeply inspired to help support communities through the education and empowerment of women and expanding access to general human rights.


I have started having many conversations about women's rights, as well as expanding access to healthcare for individuals and families with special needs living in poverty. I am hoping to find a way to address the healthcare needs of those who have family members with physical, cognitive and developmental disabilities while simultaneously addressing barriers to healthcare related to poverty. In my short time here, I have discovered that seeking local resources and opinions in combination with asking the right questions, has led me to ideas that have never before come to mind.


 

In the midst of these discussions, I was walking down the street when I met these beautiful little girls bringing water to their homes. When I asked them if we could take a picture, they agreed and started squealing and running around... so I joined them! We laughed and laughed and laughed. I then asked them what their favorite things to do during the day were, and one girl answered, "I like to play all the day long." I left feeling so uplifted by their spirits. As I was talking about the interaction with my internship friends, I was walking across a bridge and heard some screaming to my right. I turned around and saw all my friends laughing and waving at me again. So I had to stop and we took another picture... about 300 feet apart.

I look forward to continuing to draw inspiration from the Ghanian culture by learning from their wisdom, kindness and strength. Thank you all for supporting me on this life-changing journey!

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page